Jump to content

Merging Pages

Why we Merge Pages

We merge pages to consolidate information and avoid duplication. By merging pages, we create a single, comprehensive resource that users and rehabilitation professionals can easily find and reference.

Things to Consider When Merging Pages

The decision to merge pages requires careful consideration. Your reason for merging pages will influence the decision-making process, ensuring that the content is relevant and reflects the best information from both pages.

  • Page Selection: The two pages to be merged should cover the same or very similar topics. For simplicity, we will refer to them as the "desired" (the final page) and the "redundant" (the page to be absorbed).
  • Desired Page Selection: Select the Merge Target based on its name simplicity, search popularity, and its relevance to rehabilitation professionals. The desired page should ideally be the page that users are more likely to search for and reference.
  • Content Quality: Ensure that all valuable content from the redundant page is moved to the desired page.
  • Page References: Before erasing the redundant page, update any pages that link to it or create a redirect to the desired page.

The Process of Merging Pages - Step by Step

The merge process might seem complex at first, but by following the steps below, you will be able to confidently navigate each step and your final page will contain all the relevant content from both pages, ensuring that all editors receive recognition for the content they created .

Step 1 - Page Selection

Identify the two pages to be merged/ combined. One which you wish to keep as the main ‘desired’ page and the other which will be made ‘redundant’. When you have decided on which page you want to keep as the ‘desired’ page, reach out to the quality team who can review this prior to merging.

Step 2 - Editing your Desired Page

Move all of the relevant content from the ‘redundant’ page to the ‘desired’ page. Edit the ‘desired’ page, just as you would a regular article.

Step 3 - Merging Page Histories

You now need to merge histories to preserve a record of editors who contributed to the ‘redundant’ page’, which is now part of the ‘desired’ page:

  • To merge histories of two pages, you need to go to the merge history page.
  • Here, add the Source [redundant] Page name and the Destination [desired] Page name and select show mergeable edits.
  • This will display the mergeable edits, and then you can select the cutoff to include the entire history of the source page.
Step 4 - Erasing the Redundant page & Creating a redirect

To erase the content on the redundant page and make sure any linked pages from the ‘redundant’ page now link to the desired page, you can create a redirect for the ‘redundant’ page. To do this:

  • Open the edit source of the ‘redundant’ page and first clear all the existing content on this page.
  • Then, still in edit source mode, replace the text with the following code: #REDIRECT [[Desired Page Name]] and save changes.
  • This redirect will automatically take viewers to the desired page and then your page merge is complete.