User:Vidya Acharya

About Me[edit | edit source]

I'm Vidya V Acharya from Mumbai, India, and I have a Master's degree in Neuro-physiotherapy. I have experience of working in neuro-rehab units in prestigious hospitals in Mumbai, and an assistant lecturer in a physiotherapy institute. After moving overseas to care for my young family, I took a break from clinical practice.

I joined the Volunteer Content Team in April 2018. My initial responsibilities included creating, reviewing, and updating pages. My role at Physiopedia has evolved since then. I was in charge of updating the Physiopedia pages with the latest research. I enjoyed reading articles and adding evidence to pages. My current role is as an Assistant Content Manager for Volunteer Engagement. My responsibility now is to interact with and assist the volunteer content team.

Physiopedia Awards[edit | edit source]

Annual Award Recipients (2022-23):

Outstanding Leadership - the individual that demonstrates great leadership as any part of the Physiopedia project.

Outstanding leadership.png

Annual Award Recipients (2020-21):

Physiopedia Superstar – outstanding contributions by an individual.

Contributor Badges[edit | edit source]

Top Contributor for December (2020)

Volunteer Badges[edit | edit source]


Education[edit | edit source]

Masters of Physiotherapy in Neuro-physiotherapy, (University of Mumbai)

Bachelor of Physiotherapy, (University of Pune)

Professional Affiliations[edit | edit source]

Member of Indian Association of Physiotherapists.

Publications[edit | edit source]

To Study the Effect of Mental Practice on One Leg Standing Balance in the Elderly Population, printed in Physiotherapy, The Journal of the Indian Association of Physiotherapists-April 2006, Vol.2-Issue:1. Also published online here: Indian Journal of Physiotherapy and Occupational Therapy - An International Journal-2013, Vol.7-Issue: 1

In addition, I presented the research paper for this study at the 44th Annual Conference of the Indian Association of Physiotherapists in Ahmedabad, India, in January 2006 and was awarded the second-best paper prize.

Activities & interests[edit | edit source]

Nature and music are the two things I enjoy the most. I enjoy playing the piano and going for walks every evening to watch the sunset. Aside from that, I enjoy educating those around me and in my community about the importance of movement in maintaining mobility and health. I've written articles about it. You can find it here. Also, see here.

Contributions[edit | edit source]

Pages created:

Where you can find me[edit | edit source]