United States Physical Therapy Practice Acts

Original Editor - Your name will be added here if you created the original content for this page.

Top Contributors -  

Temporary License Requirements/Availability [1][edit | edit source]

Currently, there is no temporary license for new graduate students waiting to take their boards exam. Temporary licenses are only awarded to physical therapists who are licensed under another state and have applied to be licensed in this state. The license is only valid 90 days.

Requirements for License[edit | edit source]

To apply for a license:

You must be a graduate of a professional physical therapy education program accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the director

You must pass an examination approved by the director

You must pass an approved English proficiency exam if your native language is not English.

"An applicant for licensure who does not pass the examination on the first attempt may retake the examination one additional time without reapplication for licensure within six months of the first or examination. Before the director may approve an applicant for subsequent testing beyond two attempts, an applicant shall reapply for licensure and shall submit evidence satisfactory to the director of having successfully completed additional clinical training or course work, or both, as determined by the director."
--Title 26: Professions and Occupations
26 V.S.A. § 2103. Examination

Supervision[edit | edit source]

Physical therapy students enrolled in an accredited program, treating patients in Vermont, must be supervised by a licensed physical therapist. A physical therapist assistant may also treat patients in Vermont, as long as they are within their practice act and under the direction and supervision of a licensed physical therapist.

Physical Therapy Students[edit | edit source]

"students enrolled in accredited physical therapist or physical therapist assistant educational programs, while engaged in completing a clinical requirement for graduation... must be performed under the supervision and direction of a licensed physical therapist"

-- Title 26: Professions and Occupations
26 V.S.A. § 2083. Exemptions from licensure

Continued Competence[edit | edit source]

Licenses must be renewed every 2 years.

In 1999, continuing competence requirements were added to the state's practice act. It does not list what that entails.

Does the Act appear restrictive? Why/Why not?[edit | edit source]

"This chapter shall not be construed to limit or restrict in any manner the right of a practitioner of another occupation which is regulated by this state from carrying on in the usual manner any of the functions of his or her profession."
-- Title 26: Professions and Occupations
26 V.S.A. § 2084. Construction

This state is not restrictive at all towards licensed physical therapists. The only restrictions listed in Vermont's practice act is for individuals posing as a physical therapist, or a physical therapist with a revoked license.

Under Title 26: Professions and Occupations, Chapter 38: PHYSICAL THERAPISTS 26 V.S.A. § 2086. Patient care management, there is a list of minimal requirements the physical therapist must at least do as part of the profession. The list is not exhaustive and it is not restrictive.

Is there anything unusual about this act?[edit | edit source]

Nothing unusual noted in Vermont's practice act.

References[edit | edit source]

References will automatically be added here, see adding references tutorial.

  1. Vermont Statues Online. Title 26: Professions and Occupations, Chapter 38: Physical Therapists. cited from 19 April 2012. available from

Disclaimer:   Informational Content is assimilated from the state practice act is a resource only and should not be considered a  substitute for the content within the state practice act.  All state practice acts can change and it is recommended that you refer to the original resource in the link above.