Original Editor - Your name will be added here if you created the original content for this page.
Top Contributors -
Temporary License Requirements/Availability [edit | edit source]
There is temporary licensure in Missouri. The temporary license is issued for a period of ninety days to first time applicants for the licensure exam. It will not be issued to an applicant who has failed the licensure exam in the state of Missouri or in any other state. This requires supervision from a physical therapist who has been practicing in the state of Missouri for at least 1 year. The supervising PT may not be a relative. Supervision is defined as “continual verbal and written contact and onsite contact every 2 weeks." The temporary license will become invalid if the licensee fails the exam, does not sit for the exam, or at the end of 90 days.
Requirements for License [edit | edit source]
The applicant must be of good moral character and provide satisfactory evidence as to his/her innocence of unprofessional or dishonorable conduct and must be 21 years of age.
Graduation from an accredited school is required and international physical therapists wishing to apply for licensure must have their education considered “substantially equivalent” by the Foreign Credentialing Commission of Physical Therapy.
All applicants must also submit a list of employment and professional and non-professional activities since high school or the last 10 years, whichever is most recent.
Internationally trained physical therapists must show proof of licensure in his/hers country to be granted licensure.
Supervision [edit | edit source]
A physical therapist can supervise up to four, full-time equivalent physical therapist assistants at one time. The physical therapist must be within telecommunication of the PTA and there must be conferences regarding the patients at least weekly.
Physical Therapy Students [edit | edit source]
There is no mention of physical therapy students in the state regulations or statutes.
Continued Competence [edit | edit source]
All physical therapists and physical therapist assistants must complete and report at least 30 hours of acceptable continuing education biennially, on even numbered years.
The records documenting the continuing education courses should be kept for 4 years after the reporting period. The board may conduct an audit to ensure the completion of the continuing education hours.
Does the Act appear restrictive? Why/Why not? [edit | edit source]
The act does not appear to be restrictive. The language used in the document allows for a moderate amount of interpretation by the reader. Some of the terms are defined to reduce the ambiguity of the document, but overall it gives the impression of a nonrestrictive document.
Is there anything unusual about this act? [edit | edit source]
Some of the requirements to become a licensed physical therapist that are listed above seem to be unusual, including the age and good moral character requirements.
References[edit | edit source]
Missouri Code of State Regulations. Missouri Secretary of State Website. 2009. Available at http://www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/current/20csr/20c2150-3.pdf. Accessed April 17, 2012.
Missouri Revised Statutes. Missouri General Assembly Website. 2011. Available at http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c334.htm. Accessed April 17, 2012.
Disclaimer: Informational Content is assimilated from the state practice act is a resource only and should not be considered a substitute for the content within the state practice act. All state practice acts can change and it is recommended that you refer to the original resource in the link above.